UIC MIS vs UB SUNY MIS

I have received admits in both unis for Fall 2021 but I am confused over which one to choose. Overall, I heard UB SUNY is better than UIC. But the course duration in UB SUNY is only 1 year and I do not have any prior work experience. Also, to give some background about myself, I am going to finish my undergrad in CS this year. So, I have no prior knowledge of business or management, how will that affect my time at the uni and job opportunities later on?

Hi @amulya_nittala,

I believe this thread will answer your question -

Answer from the thread -

There are a lot of factors to consider -
UIC Chicago has a more tech-based curriculum whereas the curriculum of Suny Buffalo also inculcates management with technology.
Your concern about internships and jobs is quite valid if you go to Suny Buffalo. The shorter duration of the course might pose problems. Also, UIC ranks better in terms of employment probability and starting salary. So it is likely that UIC will provide a great start to your career.
The next concern about expenses, there is no way around it except taking an education loan and managing your finances. If you decide on UIC, the loan amount will increase. However, with a longer course period, you will have time to find internships and jobs. Some of the recruiters for UIC are Digital Mark Group, PwC, Blue Cross, and Blue Shield of Illinois, Montana, New Mexico, Oklahoma & Texas (Source - GyanDhan’s University Compare tool).
Both colleges have pros and cons. But you should go to a college with a curriculum that suits your professional needs.

The UB Suny’s MS in MIS program qualifies as a STEM-Designated program, therefore, you will be eligible for a 3 year OPT. You might not have enough time to get around the internships or jobs during your program, but you will have time to work on your professional growth during the OPT.