I'm a first-year student and recently transitioned

My roommate and I got along well last semester, but after I shared with him during winter break about my transition, he started calling me “delusional” and has been mean ever since. He insists I need psychiatric help, which is really upsetting. Also, the girls on my floor won’t let me use the women’s restroom, and when I brought this up to my RA, he dismissed me by saying “I’m not a woman.” I feel lost and don’t know where to turn. Are there any groups or safe places on campus for someone like me?

They offer accommodation for LGBTQ individuals.

Trying to change someone’s beliefs is futile and drains your energy.

In New York, you’re allowed to use the bathroom that matches your gender identity.

You should speak with someone from the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) office or the Dean of Students.

Also, get in touch with the folks in charge of housing.

What the Resident Assistant (RA) told you could be considered discrimination. Because they’re both an employee and a student, they could face consequences for this.

The law and the school’s rules support you. Title IX protects against discrimination based on sex and gender identity, so it’s not just a matter of new york state law

This situation isn’t right, and as someone older and part of the LGBTQ community here, I really feel this isn’t acceptable. I recommend talking to the housing office and also reaching out to the LGBTQ group on campus. They’re here to support you and will stand up for your rights. You have every right to feel safe and belong here. Stay strong. If you need someone to talk to, my messages are always open.

Definitely speak to a higher-up in housing, like the director or even your RA’s supervisor, if necessary. As someone who’s also trans, I totally get how tough this situation is, and I’m pretty sure UB should be able to arrange LGBTQ-friendly housing for you given what’s happened.