Discussion on Deakin University

Founded in 1974, Deakin University is the eighth largest university in Australia (in terms of students strength). Situated in the state of Victoria, Deakin has four large campuses and an online cloud campus.

The largest one is the Melbourne Burwood Campus situated in the suburbs of the city of Melbourne. The Geelong Waurn Ponds Campus was the original Deakin campus situated in the suburbs of the city of Geelong. The Geelong Waterfront Campus is the newest of all Deakins’ campuses situated in the city of Geelong. The fourth campus Warrnambool Campus is located in the coastal city of Warrnambool about 250 km from Melbourne.

In addition, Deakin has five research institutes and 11 strategic research centers, four corporate centers, courses on offer at three regional learning centers, and six additional regional study spaces.

Deakin University has four faculties, namely, the Faculty of Arts and Education which consists of the School of Communication and Creative Arts, School of Education and the School of Humanities and Social Sciences.

The Faculty of Business and Law which houses the Deakin Business School and the Deakin Law School.

The Faculty of Health consisting of the School of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences (Ranked #3 sports science school in the world), the School of Health and Social Development, the School of Medicine, the School of Nursing and Midwifery and the School of Psychology.

The Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment consists of the School of Architecture and Built Environment, the School of Engineering, the School of Information Technology and the School of Life and Environmental Sciences.