Data science or big data

i needed a suggestion , I’m new to both data science and big data . Can you help me understand the differences between them? Which one more better . I have some confusion and would appreciate your insights i have applied for mads program in uvic and masters of science in big data in sfu

Data Engineer is a lot of data pipeline management. That means loading/transforming data into databases from all kinds of sources. You can do it with a BS, but salary wise it caps out compared to SDE pretty early. You don’t need a Masters, although it won’t hurt obviously.

DS is 90%+ Masters if not PhD. It’s ML algorithms to build AI models and you need to be strong in a lot of areas - especially stats and Python/R. A Masters/PhD is what to shoot for to break in. Better salary than DE but obviously a bit harder.

For DE I’d say brush up on tech like ETL/Redshift/Azure, all types of DBs (mySQL/DynamoDB/noSQL/etc), Spark/Hadoop, cloud/AWS/etc and some basic ML algorithms.

For DS, get a Masters and specialize in Stats, Python/R, Hadoop/Spark, ETL/Redshift/Azure, and all ML/AI algorithms.

Think of it like the DE supports the DS by providing good data for them to build models with. DE makes a little less but way less school required.

1 Like

Hi, Tanya

Hope this message finds you well.

Happy to hear that you have started with your Master’s journey. To answer your question:

Business Analytics - Emphasizes the application of analytics within a business context, concentrating on solving business problems and optimizing operations.The teaching methodologies used are relevant to making data-driven decisions and improving business performance. Post program completion you can work as a as business analyst, operations analyst , marketing analyst, or consultants with a focus on business optimization.